Patterned Door Makeover

the door that was a bore

the door that was a bore

My door was a bore.

I’ll quit with the rhyming. But you get it. A plain white door is not fun to look at. I live in a small studio, so I can’t overlook any opportunity to make my space cozier.

All you need for this project is:

  • Paint in your favorite color du jour
  • Painter’s Tape
  • Utility Knife
  • Paint Supplies: something to cover the floor, stirs, and a large paint brush/roller and pan

Cover your trim and hardware. Then use the painter’s tape to create a geometric stencil.

Use painter's tape to create a graphic stencil

Use painter’s tape to create a graphic stencil

I began by creating vertical lines every 3 inches and then just began to build squares. I kept adding tape and cutting some off with a utility knife, until I had created an interesting pattern.

Tip: Repeating patterns will create a little more harmony in your final product. I wasn’t very precise with the dimensions of my pattern, but if you want to be, I suggest measuring your door and planning things out in advance. Ultimately, it’s up to you!

When you’re happy with your design, start painting! I chose a cheery color from Benjamin Moore called “Havana Blue” in semi-gloss with primer. Make sure to wait at least an hour between coats.

When your paint has completely dried (don’t rush this) remove your tape! Enjoy your fancy custom paint job.

My Patterned Havana Blue Door

My Patterned Havana Blue Door

3 thoughts on “Patterned Door Makeover

Leave a Reply

