DIY Shoe Storage

For some time now, I have been in desperate need of a shoe storage system. Theoretically, I kept all of my shoes in this big bin in my closet, but it would take a while to find two of the same pair and most of them wouldn’t make it into the bin because I like to take off my shoes the second I walk inside and leave them by the door…

Before

Before

So I decided to create a shoe storage system that would allow me to neatly store my most commonly worn pairs en route to the exit. There were a lot of shoe storage systems on the interwebs to look at for inspiration, but none of them quite fit what I was looking for.

I needed something that was:

  • less than 6” deep (so I could still open my door all the way)
  • could easily store both flats and heels
  • less than 2′ tall (so I could access my shoes with a long jacket on my coat hooks.)

I decided to go to Michael’s and see if there were any supplies there that could fit the bill… and luckily I found these two crates! They were 5” x 5”x 15” and made out of light-weight, unfinished wood. And at $4.99 a piece, they fit my budget!

Here’s what you need to do to turn these two crates into shoe storage for your entryway:

After

After

Supplies:

  • Wooden Crates
  • 6 drywall Screws
  • Drill
  • Screw Driver
  • Ruler/Leveler
  • Marking Pencil
  • Optional: Paint or Wood Stain

Instructions:

  1. Prepare your crates! I chose to stain mine with Minwax Gel Stain in Aged Oak because I have used this stain in other parts of my apartment. I think it’s a nice medium-dark color and makes these crates look a little more sophisticated. Make sure to wait until everything is dry before continuing with the next steps of the project.
  2. Mark where you are going to place the screws on your crates. These crates were 15” long, so I marked points at 2.5”, 7.5”, and 12.5” on the back of each crate. I put each of these marks 1/8” away from the edge of the upper beam. It’s important to mark close to the edge because you will need to access this point with a screwdriver; you won’t be able to do this if you place your screws in the center of the beam. (I learned this lesson the hard way with my first crate…)
  3. Drill through your marks on the crates.
  4. Decide where you are going to install your first crate. Locate a stud and make sure at least your center screw will go through it. Place the crate where you are going to install. Make sure it’s level and then use your pencil to mark where you drilled your screw holes on the crate.
  5. Drill through the marks on the wall.
  6. Screw your crate into the wall. Begin by standing your screws proud. Then keep going until your screw heads lay flat against the wood surface.
  7. After your first crate is secure, place a typical pair of shoes inside. Determine how far apart you should hang the next crate so you can get shoes in and out easy.
  8. Repeat steps 4-6 for the second crate.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

